Skip to content

Upgrades at Hyland Lake Park Reserve – Bloomington, MN

March 14, 2012

Part of me was disappointed when I learned that Three Rivers Park District has suspended plans for a summer ski slope, zip-line, high-ropes challenge course and other “gravity-driven, adrenaline-generating” activities in Hyland Lake Park Reserve.  Bloomington is where I grew up and I know the Hyland’s Ski Area very well.  I could really see where these new additions could be a great addition to attract more users and revenue for this great area of Bloomington.  However, the common sense side of me realizes the inherent risk if the numbers do not pan out.  It must be incredibly hard to make this analysis in the near-term economic uncertainty.  I can also relate to the concerns of residents for increased traffic and noise since we are battling our own project in Savage.

I am happy that the Park District is still looking at the upgrades of the existing amenities.  I have had many fond memories there, but also understand why there is a need to look at upgrades for the current users.   I look forward to following the process over the next few months.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

